The Officiant Search Begins + Fiddler on the Roof

“What are you? Everything? The bridegroom, matchmaker, and guests in one? I suppose you’ll perform the ceremony, too?” – Fiddler on the Roof

I’m having a lot of trouble letting go of my wedding ceremony.  I even suggested to Dan that we could get legally married (just sign the paperwork) in New Jersey, and then do a self-uniting ceremony, where we and our bridal party would lead the wedding – but he wasn’t too into it.  Part of me wants an officiant, too.

The issue I’m running into is that the laws in New York State don’t allow ministers who don’t have a congregation  to solemnize weddings.

So I guess the wedding officiant thing is going to take me awhile – research, emails, phone calls.  It’s something that I was putting off for the time being – but now I realize that it was my own anxiety about the whole finding a Celebrant that was making me put it off.  Even though a lot of the other details for the wedding have fallen into place without much effort (in a fabulous way!), I think the officiant search is going to be tough.

Who performed your wedding ceremony?

Now let’s enjoy one of my favorite movie wedding scenes – it makes me cry almost every time.  It doesn’t get more traditional than this though.

When Tzeitel and Motel get married, she carries lavender in her bouquet – when they get permission to get married, and go into the woods and sing “Miracle of Miracles,” Motel picks some lavender and presents it to Tzeitel.  Cute detail, right?

And the candles that everyone carries in the wedding are triple wicked, so they’d have fabulous light.

I’ve seen this movie too many times.

~ by Jessie on February 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
